top of page
  • Writer's pictureRho Lambda Chapter Member

Welcome, Dr. Jordan Canzonetta!

The English Studies Department welcomes its newest member, Dr. Jordan Canzonetta, who dedicates much of her energy toward Professional Writing as a discipline.



Dr. Canzonetta's Credentials

Ph.D., Composition & Cultural Rhetoric, Syracuse University M.A., English, Northern Illinois University B.A., English, Kent State University


1. What scholarship have you conducted over the past few years?

I conduct scholarship on plagiarism, rhetoric and technology, writing assessment, digital rhetoric, and labor studies. More specifically, I look at how automation in educational technologies impacts teaching labor. 


2. What influenced you to pursue professional writing as a degree?

I initially wanted to pursue a degree in literature, but as a writer, I found that I much preferred to work with data and do workplace-based writing than literary analyses. 


3. How has English Studies affected you professionally and personally?

My degrees aren’t technically in English, but English studies has impacted me in the past in terms of the outstanding mentors I worked with during my undergrad. Without the mentors I worked with in English Studies,  I never would have known how to apply to grad school or what career to pursue. 


4. Tell us about your favorite author or book.

Harry Potter, all day every day. 


5. What are you currently reading for fun?

Honestly, I’m not reading anything for fun! All of my reading right now is academic, so when I finally get a break from reading and writing, I just want to play with my dogs. 


6. If you could spend a day with any author, deceased or living, who would that be and why?

I would like to meet with the writers who work on Michael Shur productions, like The Office, Parks and Rec, Brooklyn 99, and The Good Place because their writing is brilliant, timely, and meticulously written. 


7. What current scholarship are you pursuing?  Any recent essays or journal entries?

Currently, I’m working on a chapter for an edited collection on human and machine collaboration; I’m pulling from my dissertation work to write about balanced and productive collaborations between humans and machines in higher education. 


If you need any more information, feel free to check out my website: jordancanzonetta.com


98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page